You think it’s bad now, …just hold on the best is yet to come. Romans 8:18

For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed to us.

Listening to the local news over the past few weeks I find myself wondering what is going on in this little town in the Bible belt that has more Churches than Liquor stores and clubs combined. Being from a much larger metropolitan area it amazes me the high level of crime that takes place here in Lawton. The drugs, the senseless killing, the rapes, the stealing just to name a few of the things that make me miss home, thats right it is safer in Washington DC, Maryland and Virginia (DMV) than it is here in Lawton. But doesnt that make you wonder why, with all of these Christians and all of these God fearing people in the area, how is it that a city this size can not be reclaimed for the Glory of God? A few would theorize that it isnt the size of the city, or the type of people that reside there it is the availability of the drugs, and gangs, prostitution etc.. that make it so people cant pull themselves out of sin. I have to disagree – before you get started.

People are not getting the word, there is no other way of putting it, we as Christians are not getting out into the street where the hate and hurt are and witnessing. Is it because of fear? Is it that we are so scared that we may become a victim ourselves of unecesary violence. No matter what trouble there is around us we have to carry the word of God into the areas where sin is most prevalent. Everytime we avoid a witness we hurt someones ability to come into Gods grace. Dont tell me not to go on the Southside of Lawton and minister, dont tell me to make sure that I stay away from C, or D avenue after dark. I dont care how bad Ft. Sill blvd can be at night, Dont tell me about Lawton Heights these are things that I can only pray about.. I understand there are some bad things that take place there,..but can you imagine the reward that awaits in heaven for doing only what God has told you to do in the beginning spread the word of his goodness.

I dont feel that it matters how bad the world is becoming because I am not living for this present world, I am living for the world to come!

The trouble of this earth will be forgotten when I am standing in the presence of God!

 

 

 

Send me 7 AKA Darrin

Leave a comment